Frequently Asked Questions
Q: I want to become an Apprentice, what do I need to do?
A: The first thing you need to do is find a trainer willing to be your mentor. If the mentor/trainer is not the Establishment Owner, you will need their permission to apprentice in the salon or shop where you will be working.
contact Bella Capelli Cosmetology and Barbering Apprenticeship Program for an Orientation Meeting and complete a
Pre Apprentice Course.
Q. What if I want to be an apprentice under the Sponsorship of Bella Capelli Cosmetology and Barbering Apprenticeship Program because of your 100% pass rate, but I am located in another County other than Kern County. Can My Trainer and I still join Bella Capelli?
A. Yes! You can still be sponsored by Bella Capelli Cosmetology and Barbering Apprenticeship program.
We can come to you! Bella Capelli can place an apprentice in ANY County in the State of California.
Please call or email Julie Todahl , Chairman of Bella Capelli Cosmetology and Barbering Apprenticeship Program
to discuss becoming a Satellite salon for our program and options for you and your Trainer.
Q. Does Bella Capelli Cosmetology & Barbering Apprenticeship Program have Spanish Speaking locations?
A. Yes! Bella Capelli Apprenticeship has 2 locations ( Mendota, Ca. and Porterville, Ca) that offer Spanish Speaking classes.
Q: Will it cost anything to become an Apprentice?
A:The California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology requires a $25 licensing fee for your apprentice license.
There are other costs associated with being an apprentice such as the Pre Apprentice Course of Instruction, Books, tools, supplies, and Institutional /Classroom charges for
Pre - Apprenticeship and Registered Apprenticeship, and On the Job Training during the apprenticeship.
Bella Capelli Cosmetology and Barbering Apprenticeship Program has an affordable monthly payment plan for Institutional /Classroom/Trainer fund charges .
All apprentices will need to furnish their own working tools and supplies and Classroom tools and supplies.
Please click on tab marked "Costs associated with apprenticeship" for detailed information.
Q. Do I get paid as an Apprentice?
A: Yes. The trainer or Establishment must agree to pay you according to our wage scale.
You must be paid W-2 wages .
Since you are an Employee, you must have a Workman's Comp. policy as well.
Bella Capelli Cosmetology and Barbering Apprenticeship Program must have a copy of your first paycheck and the Workman's comp policy .
Q. Can I rent a booth or station in the Salon or Barbershop or get paid on commission?
A: No. You must be paid W-2 wages while you are an Apprentice.
Q: Is the Apprentice Program available for Manicurist or Esthetician?
A: No. Not at this time. The apprentice program is available for Barbering, Cosmetology , and Electrologist programs only. However, the Cosmetology apprenticeship covers esthetics and manicuring.
If you are interested in becoming a Manicurist or Esthetician only, you will need to contact the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology for approved Schools.
Q: If I am presently attending a Board approved school of Barbering or Cosmetology and would like to become an apprentice, may I apply my school hours towards the hours required by the Apprentice Program?
A: No. Your clock-hours and operations accumulated in a Board approved school of Barbering or Cosmetology are non-transferable to the Apprentice Program.
Q: Is the Related Training Instruction part of my 3,200 hours of on-the-job training?
A: No. The Related Training Instruction (300 hours for both Barbering and Cosmetology) is in addition to your 3200 clock hours. These hours are given in a classroom environment and cover the scope of practice for Barbering and Cosmetology and includes Health and Safety Laws of California.
Q. Is the Pre Apprentice Course part of my 3200 hours of On the Job Training?
A. No. The Pre Apprentice Course is a separate, mandatory 39 Hour pre - requisite required by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology before entering into Registered Apprenticeship.
Q: I have been told that I need identification but I don’t drive. What can I do?
A: All licensed individuals, including apprentices, must have a current and valid and government issued photo ID with them while they are in an establishment. If you don't drive you can receive a state issued ID at your local DMV.
Q: Do I need a social security number to apply to be an apprentice.
A: The Board requires all applicants have either a valid social security number (SSN) or a valid tax payer identification number (TIN) or (ITIN)
Q. Will I be working on paying clients as an apprentice?
A. Yes. However, all work that you perform on clients must be done under the direct supervision of your trainer(s)
in the approved establishment listed on your license.
Q: Does the trainer that I choose need to have any special education prior to becoming a trainer?
A: Yes. Bella capelli requires all trainers must be licensed professionals for at least 2 years before applying to be a trainer of apprentices. Anyone who meets this criteria and is currently licensed by the Board as a Barber or Cosmetologist may become a trainer. A trainer may be the owner, employee , or Independent Contractor of a licensed establishment and must be in good standing with the Board. Your trainer must be licensed in the course of study (i.e., same scope of practice) as the apprentice.
Q: What if my trainer becomes sick or takes a leave of absence?
A: The Board requires that each apprentice may only work under the direct supervision of their approved trainer(s).
If your trainer(s) must take a day or two off due to illness, etc., you may not continue to work without your trainer present. If your trainer must take an extended leave of absence, it may become necessary for you to transfer to another trainer.
Q: If I decide to quit the program or need to take a leave of absence, what can I do?
A: If you decide to leave the program permanently or for an extended period of time which would prevent you from completing the required curriculum (On-the-Job-Training and Related Training ) hours within the years that your apprentice license is valid, your Program Sponsor must fill out a Verification of Training form. This completed and signed verification must be submitted along with your apprentice license to the Board. Your earned On-the -Job-Training hours and operations, Related Training and Pre-Apprentice training are retained for three (3) years, should you decide to re-enroll. You may only enroll for the apprenticeship program twice.
There is a $250 re-enrollment fee to rejoin the apprenticeship. A new trainer must attend an Orientation.
There is a $250 re- enrollment fee to an apprentice coming from another apprenticeship program to Bella Capelli.
There will be a $100 fee for all other
Q: Do I need to be an apprentice for a full two years before I can take the licensing examination?
A: Under apprenticeship laws, with a twenty-four(24) month apprentice program no apprentices will be completed earlier than twenty-one (21) months, pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 8, Regulation 224. Regulation 224(e) states in part the following: (e) The local apprenticeship program sponsor in recognition of unusual ability and progress in mastering the skills of the occupations and the related and supplemental education program may decrease the apprenticeship period for individual apprentices by not more than twelve and one-half (12 1/2) percent. A twenty-four month program multiplied by twelve and a half percent (12.5%) equals three months. Subtract three months from the twenty-four month program and the minimum time the apprentice can be in the program is twenty-one (21) months.
Q: If I finish my requirements in 21 months, may I still continue to work until my apprentice license expires?
A: Yes, as long as you apply for the license examination. You may continue to work for three months after you have completed the program requirements or until your license expires, whichever comes first.
Q. Can I be an apprentice if I am the Owner of the Establishment?
A. No. You may not apply to be an apprentice if you are listed on the Establishment license of the establishment in which you will be an Apprentice.
If an Establishment Owner wants to be an apprentice He/She must remove their name from the Establishment License issued by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, or apprentice in another establishment in which they are not the owner.
Q. Can I be an Apprentice if I have any Felony convictions?
A. All Apprentice applicants must fill out a Criminal Disclosure form if you have any Felony or Misdemeanor convictions.
Having a conviction does not mean you will not be accepted into the Apprenticeship. If you are concerned about this, I can send in a Pre Application to the Board to find out if you will be accepted before the actual Indenture paperwork is sent.